Departmental Facilities and Records

Signposts also gives historical information about facilities that were owned by the Government, under the responsibility of earlier incarnations of the present Department for Child Protection (DCP).  Many of the Peak Agencies mentioned earlier had a partnering role with the Department in managing these facilities, but some were entirely in Government hands.  Again, this section serves only to list the facilities.  More information about their history can be found in the section, “List of Facilities”.  Where the facility has also been attached to a Non-Government agency, its listing here is italicized.

In addition to information about facilities, Signposts separately lists an outline of the records and indexes that the Department for Child Protection holds – many of which were inherited from other organisations, or earlier versions of what is now DCP.

Albany Group Home

Alvan House

Applecross Hostel

Adross House

Bamburra Hostel

Bedford Hostel

Bennett House

Bentley House

Boulder (Millen Street) Boys’ Employment Hostel

Bridgetown Group Home


Bunbury Group Home (Canowindra)

Carnarvon Group Home (Waran-ma)

Catherine House, Broome

Charles Perkins (Yurag-Man-Gu) Hostel

Collie Group Home (Kooloongaruna / Koolingar-Mia)


Cosmo Newberry

Darlington Cottage

Derby (Amy Bethel) Hostel

Derby Group Home

Doubleview (Metropolitan Division) Group Home

Fitzroy Crossing Group Homes (Burawa Hostel)

Fitzroy Crossing Hostel


Geraldton Boys’ Employment Hostel

Geraldton (Westview) Group Home

Gilliamia Hostel, Onslow

Gilmore House Group Home, Medina

Goldfields Group Home, Boulder

Greenmount (Innaminka) Hostel

Gwynne Lea

Hamilton Hill (Frederick Street) Hostel

Kalgoorlie Group Home

Kalgoorlie (Graeme Street) Hostel



Katanning Group Home

Katanning (Kartanup) Hostel

Kewdale House

Koorana (non-residential)

Kyarra Hostel, Cue

Kyewong (Youth Equip)

Laverton (Craiggie Street) Hostel

Longmore Remand and Assessment Centre

Longmore Training Centre

McCall Centre

McDonald House

Medina Hostel

Meekatharra Hostels (Darlot Street and Consols Street)

Moorgunyah Hostel, Port Hedland

Myera House, Subiaco

Nabberu Hostel, Leonora

Ngangganawili Group Home, Wiluna

Nindeebai Hostel, Boulder

Nollamara Children’s Respite Home

Northam (Departmental) Group Home


Oceanview (Beach Street) Hostel, Cottesloe

Oolanyah Hostel, Marble Bar


Port Hedland Group Home

Pukulari Cottage, Boulder

Rangeview Remand Centre

Riverbank, Caversham

South Hedland Group Home

Stuart House

Tudor Lodge

Victoria Park (Riverbank) Annexe

Walcott Centre (Government Receiving Depot/Home; Mt Lawley Reception Home)

Waringarri Group Home, Kununurra


Warralea Hostel, Yokine

Warramboo Hostel, Yalgoo

Warramia Group Home, Badgingarra

Watson Lodge

Weeriana Hostel, Roebourne

Wollaston Group Home, Bunbury